News 16th June 2017

New civil society members of international OGP Steering Committee

by Peter Timmins

The two new civil society members to join the international Steering Committee are Giorgi Kldiashvili Director of the Institute for Development of Freedom of Information (IDFI), an NGO based in Georgia, and  Tur-Od Lkhagvajav who holds several leading civil society positions in Mongolia.

Congratulations to both, and thanks to Ken Coghill, current Chairman of the Australian Network Steering Committee for nominating. Always next time Ken.

Endorsement for Ken Coghill


Full details of the selection process are available on the OGP blog,

Giorgi Kldiashvili (@g_kldiashvili) is a founding member and Director of the Institute for Development of Freedom of Information (IDFI), an NGO based in Georgia. He has conducted consultancy projects with international and multilateral organizations, such as USAID, UNDP, and the EU in Georgia and abroad. He is the author of a number of publications related to freedom of information, anti-corruption and good governance, accountability and transparency, e-Governance and e-Democracy, open data, civil service and public administration, media and internet. Giorgi is a civil society chair of the Open Government Partnership (OGP) Forums at the Government and the Parliament of Georgia – Since 2013 Giorgi is the member of the Inter-agency Anti-Corruption Council of Georgia and co-chair of the Freedom of Information working group at the Council. Giorgi’s second on the OGP Steering Committee is Levan Avalishvili, Programs Director, IDFI. Giorgi will be formally joining the Steering Committee in October 2017.

Tur-Od Lkhagvajav (@TurodLkhagvajav) holds several leading civil society positions, including as Co-Founder & President of Transparency International – Mongolia, a member of the National OGP (Open Government Partnership) Task Force and National Council for EITI (Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative), and an elected member of Coordinating Council for Publish What You Pay/PWYP – Coalition of 30 Mongolian NGOs. Since 2013, he has also functioned as first Country Facilitator for LOGIN – Local Governance Initiative and Network for South and East Asia. He is founding Chair of the Mongolian Foundation for Democracy and first Convener/Secretary General of Mongolia Democracy Foundation & Network. He is also National Coordinator for 11th Asia-Europe People’s Forum ( within the ASEM process and Co-Convener & Steering Committee member of Asia Democracy Network ( In addition, he was appointed by the President of Mongolia as member and elected Chairman of the Public Oversight Council (with 15 leading CSOs and mass media representatives as its members) at the Independent Authority Against Corruption in May 2014 until 2018. Prior, Tur-Od was Legal Assistant to the President of Mongolia and Special Adviser to the Minister of Justice in 2012-2014. Tur-Od’s second on the Steering Committee is Anselmo Lee, co-founder of the Asia Development Network. Tur-Od joins the SC in June 2017, filling the seat left vacant by former civil society SC member Sugeng Bahagijo.